The Ghost of Hannah Mendes

The Ghost of Hannah Mendes

Book - 2001
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:

When Catherine da Costa, a wealthy Manhattan matron, learns she has only a short time to live, she realizes that her family tree will die unless she passes on its legacy and traditions to her granddaughters. But Suzanne and Francesca, beautiful young women caught up in trendy causes and ambitious careers, have no interest in the past. Catherine almost despairs until one night she is visited by the ghost of her family's anscestor, an indomitable Renaissance businesswoman named Hannah Mandes.

The ghost of Hannah Mendes encourages Catherine to use every trick in the book to coerce the granddaughters to journey across Europe and acquaint themselves with their roots. While the sisters honor their grandmother's request out of loyalty, they believe their quest is futile--until it starts to uncover ancient pages from Hannah Mendes's fascinating memoir, and brings new loves into their lives.

Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Griffin, [2001]
Edition: 1st St. Martin's Griffin ed
ISBN: 9780312281250
0312281250
Branch Call Number: F RAG (Dayson Collection)
Characteristics: 384 p. : geneal. tables ; 21 cm
Additional Contributors: Dayson Collection

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
TheresaAJ
Dec 29, 2015

Catherine da Costa is a dying woman whose final wish is to see her two granddaughters find their family roots and marry nice Sephardic Jewish boys. When a vision from her family's past visits her one night, Catherine has found her ruse -- a rare book hunt across Europe. This novel intersperses the modern story with pages of an ancient manuscript found during the treasure hunt. The reader also learns about the history of Sephardic Jews and the resilience of a culture during persecution. The only thing missing is a genealogical chart and a map. Fans of Geraldine Brooks' People of the Book and Katherine Neville's The Eight will like this novel.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top