Silas Marner and Two Short Stories

Silas Marner and Two Short Stories

Book - 2005
Rate this:
George Eliot's third novel, "Silas Marner" (1861) is a powerful and moving tale about one man's journey from exile and loneliness to the warmth and joy of the family. The story opens as Silas Marner, falsely accused of theft, loses everything, including his faith in God. Embittered and alienated from his fellow man, he moves to the village of Raveloe, where he becomes a weaver. Taking refuge in his work, Silas slowly begins to accumulate gold--his only joy in life--until one day that too is stolen from him. Then one dark evening, a beautiful, golden-haired child, lost and seeing the light from Silas's cottage, toddles in through his doorway. As Silas grows to love the girl as if she were his own daughter, his life changes into something precious. But his happiness is threatened when the orphan's real father comes to claim the girl as his own, and Silas must face losing a treasure greater than all the gold in the world. This volume also includes two shorter works by Eliot--"The Lifted Veil", a dark Gothic fantasy about a morbid young clairvoyant, and "Brother Jacob", a deliciously satirical fable about a confectioner's apprentice.
Publisher: New York, NY : Barnes & Noble Classics, c2005
ISBN: 9781593082512
Branch Call Number: CLASSICS F ELI
Characteristics: xl, 277 p. ; 21 cm
Additional Contributors: Levine, George


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Find it at RPL

To Top