In the Wolf's Mouth

In the Wolf's Mouth

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
1
1
Rate this:

In The Wolf's Mouth is a novel about war and the Mafia, about innocence and corruption, and history as an accumulation of the irrevocable. Set mostly in Sicily during the Second World War, it tells the story of an attempt to reconstruct a country after violent conflict through the eyes of several characters. Will Walker, an English Field Security Officer, attempts mastery of the great game of intelligence and intervention. Ray Marfione, an Italian-American infantryman, experiences the thought-shattering trauma of battle and slowly, in hiding, with the aid of a Sicilian Princess, attempts the long return to life. Cir#65533; Albanese is a Mafioso who has enjoyed a long, productive exile in New York during the years of Italian Fascism. He returns to reclaim his old life, including the wife who had thought him killed long ago. With friends released from prison and the unwitting aid of the Allies, he works to re-establish the Mafia's hold on Sicily.

Written in short chapters of great lyrical intensity, In the Wolf's Mouth collides the small and luminous details of individual experience with brutally massive historical forces. It observes the characters' attempts to find meaning in all of this, to tell stories to themselves that make sense. Numerous stories interlock and come apart in the novel which records, as fiercely as it can, the events of these lives without deciding what they mean or what they're worth.

Publisher: Toronto, Ontario :, HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.,, [2014]
Edition: First Canadian edition
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9781443430982
Branch Call Number: F FOU
Characteristics: 322 pages ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ChristchurchLib Jul 24, 2014

The author of the Booker-shortlisted The Quickening Maze returns with a new novel. Set in Sicily and North Africa during the final days of World War II, it follows three different men: a university-educated British officer who discovers that logic and reason have no place on the battlefield; a sensitive American soldier ill-equipped for the horrors of combat; and an Italian-born translator for the Allies who has a secret agenda beyond that of aiding the war-effort. With its complex characters and interconnected narratives that unfold against a gritty wartime backdrop, this novel may appeal to fans of Michael Ondaatje's The English Patient or Anthony Doerr's All the Light We Cannot See.
Historical Fiction July 2014 Newsletter.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

n
nafeesrawji
Nov 08, 2014

nafeesrawji thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top