Busted

Busted

A Tale of Corruption and Betrayal in the City of Brotherly Love

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:

In the vein of Erin Brockovich, The Departed, and T. J. English's Savage City comes Busted, the shocking true story of the biggest police corruption scandal in Philadelphia history, a tale of drugs, power, and abuse involving a rogue narcotics squad, a confidential informant, and two veteran journalists whose reporting drove a full-scale FBI probe, rocked the City of Brotherly Love, and earned a Pulitzer Prize .

In 2003, Benny Martinez became a Confidential Informant for a member of the Philadelphia Police Department's narcotics squad, helping arrest nearly 200 drug and gun dealers over seven years. But that success masked a dark and dangerous reality: the cops were as corrupt as the criminals they targeted.

In addition to fabricating busts, the squad systematically looted mom-and-pop stores, terrorizing hardworking immigrant owners. One squad member also sexually assaulted three women during raids. Frightened for his life, Martinez turned to Philadelphia Daily News reporters Wendy Ruderman and Barbara Laker.

Busted chronicles how these two journalists--both middle-class working mothers--formed an unlikely bond with a convicted street dealer to uncover the secrets of ruthless kingpins and dirty cops. Professionals in an industry shrinking from severe financial cutbacks, Ruderman and Laker had few resources--besides their own grit and tenacity--to break a dangerous, complex story that would expose the rotten underbelly of a modern American city and earn them a Pulitzer Prize. A page-turning thriller based on superb reportage, illustrated with eight pages of photos, Busted is modern true crime at its finest.

Publisher: New York :, HarperCollins Publishers,, [2014]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9780062085443
Branch Call Number: 364.1323 RUD
Characteristics: 242 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Laker, Barbara

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ckouvelas Feb 19, 2017

Great true story. Writing was simply great and knew nothing about this event and was delighted to know more. Could not put this book down.

w
WHFTalbot
Oct 03, 2016

Fantastic book and well written! I knew nothing about this case or the authors, but it was a pleasant surprise. Very easy to read, and hard ot put down as well.

ChristchurchLib May 12, 2014

"Tipped off by a drug addict who had been collaborating with a Philadelphia vice cop, Philadelphia Daily News reporters Wendy Ruderman and Barbara Laker probed more deeply into police operations and uncovered a disturbingly extensive pattern of corrupt activities. Their series of reports caused public anger about the police misconduct and resulted in the demotions of a few officers -- though none were ever criminally charged. Busted traces Ruderman and Laker's investigation (which won them a Pulitzer Prize) and relates details of their personal lives, providing a fascinating and "insightful view of high-risk, high-reward" crime reportage (Kirkus Reviews)." History and Current Events May 2014 newsletter http://www.libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/07a6a31c-7455-4328-9850-87f64b0c952f?postId=4ba36ab2-e78e-4e70-abde-d37ee7b88a73

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top