Toccata and Fugue in D Minor

Toccata and Fugue in D Minor

Printed Music - 1006/
Rate this:

Although Ferruccio Busoni (1866--1924) wrote operas, orchestral, and chamber music, he is today especially renowned for his works for piano, particularly his very popular and frequently performed transcriptions of the music of Johann Sebastian Bach. Busoni early earned a worldwide reputation as an extraordinary pianist, one who combined great virtuoso technique with a profound and powerful musical intellect. These qualities are amply evident in the remarkable piano transcriptions in this edition: Prelude and Fugue in D; Prelude and Fugue in E-flat ("St. Anne"); Toccata, Adagio and Fugue in C; Toccata and Fugue in D Minor; Chaconne in D minor; and Ten Chorale-Preludes.
All pianists -- especially those who aspire to the highest levels of technique -- will welcome the opportunity to study and perform these wonderful works presented complete in this convenient, modestly priced volume.

Publisher: New York, NY : Dover Publications, c1006
ISBN: 9780486290508
Branch Call Number: 786.2 BUS
Characteristics: 1 score (117 p.) ; 31 cm
Additional Contributors: Bach, Johann Sebastian 1685-1750


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

No similar edition of this title was found at RPL.

Try searching for Toccata and Fugue in D Minor to see if RPL owns related versions of the work.

Suggest for Purchase

To Top