Liar, Liar

Liar, Liar

A Cat DeLuca Mystery

Book - 2010
Average Rating:
9
Rate this:
Burned by her run-around ex-husband Johnnie Ricco, Caterina DeLuca took the skills she mastered during marriage and opened her own private eye agency. Now she's a second-story woman, armed with a camera, ready to print 8#65533;10 glossies for use in divorce court.The men in her big, whacko family, all Chicago cops--one a crook--aren't sure what to make of Cat's career choice. But hey, it's serve and protect!Then one Rita Polansky retains Cat. Rita's liar-liar husband is the mysterious, but seriously hot, Chance Savino. Cat is hot on his heels when an exploding building hurls her out of her stilettos and into the hospital. The FBI claims Chance was killed in the fireworks, but concussed Cat remembers a different scenario.She escapes the hospital to meet with her client. But when Rita doesn't show, Cat breaks into her home to find Rita with a knife in her chest and two clues at the murder scene: a clutch of candy wrappers and Chance Savino, rummaging through Rita's drawers.One surprise after another piles up. As no one else sights Savino, everyone around Cat thinks she's crazy. Everyone except a determined killer who has put her on his "kill" list.
Publisher: Scottsdale, AZ : Poisoned Pen Press, c2010
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9781590587270
Branch Call Number: MYS F LAR
Characteristics: 237 p. ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

d
davidsonyoneji
Jan 23, 2017

Caterina (Cat) DeLuca’s Pants on Fire Detective Agency finds and exposes cheating spouses. Cat comes from a very large and protective Italian police family in Chicago. Shortly after Cat is hired to follow a potential straying husband, he becomes the apparent victim of an explosion. Injured in the explosion, Cat awakens in the hospital to a glimpse of the victim, Chance Savino. Her family is convinced that she has lost her sanity when she claims to have seen Savino. Cat is determined to learn who caused the explosion. Her discovery of another murder victim launches her into an investigation to find the murderer. There’s amusing family dynamics, romance, a birthday celebration, action and suspense.

g
gcarolann
Jul 09, 2014

similar to Janet Evanovich: not as crisp writing as Evanovich but okay for a summer read

s
Shelley51
Mar 31, 2013

Love the title & purpose of the detective! Unfortunately, that is where my interest ended. Like several others I didn't finish the book. Why because it is written like a 30 minute sitcom that needs a laugh track to be funny! The lead is an Italian girl from Chicago. Surprise her mother is overbearing & a great cook; her dad is a retired cop & her brothers are also cops & overly protective! Everything about the book is a been there, done that. I hope the authors make changes and can be successful.

BPLNextBestAdults Oct 16, 2012

This first novel by K.J. Larsen is a fast-paced, cozy mystery with private eye Caterina DeLuca. The book is actually written by three sisters Julianne, Kristen, and Kari Larsen who as avid mystery readers decided to try their hands at writing their own mystery, as a team.
What a delightful, enjoyable and funny book with a strong quirky female character. After her marriage to serial cheater Johnnie Ricco fails, Cat DeLuca decides to open her own private investigation business. The Pants on Fire Detective Agency specializes in exposing cheaters. Her current job is to expose cheater Chance Savino. Not so easy as the police maintain that Chance died in an explosion. Cat knows differently and although her own life is in danger, she works hard to show that she isn’t crazy and that Chance Savino is alive and well.
Fans of Janet Evanovich and Sue Grafton will love this book. This is the first book in the series that this trio of sisters is planning to write. The second book in the series is Sticks and Stones. I hope they keep writing more. So take a little time this weekend and enjoy a little mystery.

NZaleske Aug 06, 2011

I am looking forward to the next book. It is really a cute story.

AnnetteJ May 10, 2011

Seemed like a total copy of plot and characters used by author, Janet Evanovich.

m
marilyninbinbrook
Feb 05, 2011

Boring...could not even finish the book

e
erogolino
Jan 08, 2011

I completely disagree with the previous comment. This book was funny, and a quick read. there was no overt sexual innunedo in this mystery. I enjoyed the story and look forward to the next Pants On Fire book in the series.

2
22950009541673
Nov 23, 2010

A sex story masquerading as a mystery.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top