An Irish Country Village

An Irish Country Village

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
Patrick Taylor first charmed readers with An Irish Country Doctor, a warm and enchanting novel in the tradition of James Herriot and Jan Karon. Now Taylor returns to the colorful Northern Ireland community of Ballybucklebo, where there’s always something brewing beneath the village’s deceptively sleepy surface. Young Doctor Barry Laverty has only just begun his assistantship under his eccentric mentor, Dr. Fingal Flahertie O’Reilly, but he already feels right at home in Ballybucklebo. When the sudden death of a patient casts a cloud over Barry’s reputation, his chances of establishing himself in the village are endangered, especially since the grieving widow is threatening a lawsuit. Not all their challenges are medical in nature. When a greedy developer sets his sights on the very heart of the community, the village pub, it’s up to the doctors to save the Black Swan (affectionately known to the locals as the “Mucky Duck”) from being turned into an overpriced tourist trap. After all, the good citizens of Ballybucklebo need some place to drink to each other’s health.... Whether you’ve visited in the past, or are discovering Ballybucklebo for the first time, An Irish Country Village is an ideal location for anyone looking for wit, warmth, and just a touch of blarney.
Publisher: [S.l.] : Forge Books, 2012
Edition: Reprint ed
ISBN: 9780765368256
0765368250
Characteristics: 552 p. ; 18 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
savtadina
Mar 13, 2017

This is the second book in the series after An Iris Country Doctor. The first book includes the first month when a young doctor named Barry, newly out of medical school and internship, begins working with a 56 year old doctor in a small fictitious town in rural Ireland. This book starts at the beginning of the second month. This series is really growing on me. The presentation is simple, but the characters are well developed and the reader gets a good sense of what the people in that area were like in the mid 1960s and also how medicine was practiced. There is a romance that is developing too. I'm looking forward to continuing to read this series. It is great to read on a cold, dreary, rainy day!

r
reeread
May 15, 2016

Medical practice fifty years ago relied a lot more on the experience, instinct and intuition of doctors rather than tests and technology. Recommended for those who enjoy stories set in small villages with a cast of interesting characters who don't always see eye to eye.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number
  Loading...

Find it at RPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top