The Taker

The Taker

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
8
Rate this:
In the tradition of Anne Rice and Elizabeth Kostova comes a hauntingly atmospheric tale spanning several lifetimes--a love story featuring alchemy, lust, and betrayal.

True love can last an eternity . . . but immortality comes at a price.

On the midnight shift at a hospital in rural St. Andrew, Maine, Dr. Luke Findley is expecting a quiet evening. Until a mysterious woman arrives in his ER, escorted by police--Lanore McIlvrae is a murder suspect--and Luke is inexplicably drawn to her. As Lanny tells him her story, an impassioned account of love and betrayal that transcends time and mortality, she changes his life forever. . . . At the turn of the nineteenth century, when St. Andrew was a Puritan settlement, Lanny was consumed as a child by her love for the son of the town's founder, and she will do anything to be with him forever. But the price she pays is steep--an immortal bond that chains her to a terrible fate for eternity.
Publisher: New York ; Toronto : Gallery Books, 2012, c2011
Edition: 1st Gallery Books pbk. ed
ISBN: 9781439197066
Branch Call Number: F KAT
Characteristics: 438 p. ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

JCLDebbieF Feb 09, 2017

This booked had me hooked right away. It's intimidating to recommend a book that contains some very disturbing scenes, but I loved it and highly recommend it.

k
Kamalo
Nov 12, 2013

I bought this book over a year ago and still I cannot get through it. It's somewhat hard to get into. Once you've put it down and left it for a few days, it's super hard to remember what was going on before you stopped reading. I wanted this book for the cover also. Quite disappointed. I didn't like the characters or the jogging back and forth between present and past. First 10-15 chapters I was into it.. after that.....wellll.....141 pages to go......

j
jbronkema
Sep 10, 2012

I grabbed this purely for the cover picture. The plot is interesting, but I was disappointed in the character development.

MoMommy Jul 21, 2012

I had a hard time putting this book down at night. I also found it hard to read some of the violent scenes but that only added to the excitment of reading this novel. I can not wait to read the next one and find out what happends!

samdog123 Mar 22, 2012

Read this for my book club. Certainly is a page turner, but the tone is so overwhelmingly depressing all throughout the books. There was a big reveal that I didn't see coming twhich was really well done. Lanny reminded me of Scarlett O'Hara and her obsessive love for Ashley, but Gone with the wind relies on excellent writing. The overwhelming violence and sex scenes in this book were excessive and I'm not a prude. Apparently, this is the first in a trilogy. The only thing that would get me reading a successive book would be to see what happens to the evil Adair.

p
PCimba
Mar 22, 2012

An exotically (and erotically) written first novel by this author. The pairing of dominant and submissive characters create a turbulent story that spans centuries. The author alternates between different times and places. A book that could stand on its own, it is the first in a trilogy - the second of which is due out soon.

c
c_anderson
Jan 14, 2012

I found this book disappointing. The characters are one-dimensional, which makes it very hard to believe in the eternal romance which is at the heart of the book.

e
Elizabeth49
Oct 29, 2011

One of the best books I have read in recent years. It's a mixture of fairy tale fantasy and mystery. It's one of those books you don't want to finish because it' so good. The second in the series will be out in 2012.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top