Of Mice and Men

Of Mice and Men

Book - 1993
Average Rating:
Rate this:
72
18
8
 …
A controversial tale of friendship and tragedy during the Great Depression

They are an unlikely pair: George is "small and quick and dark of face"; Lennie, a man of tremendous size, has the mind of a young child. Yet they have formed a "family," clinging together in the face of loneliness and alienation.

Laborers in California's dusty vegetable fields, they hustle work when they can, living a hand-to-mouth existence. For George and Lennie have a plan: to own an acre of land and a shack they can call their own. When they land jobs on a ranch in the Salinas Valley, the fulfillment of their dream seems to be within their grasp. But even George cannot guard Lennie from the provocations of a flirtatious woman, nor predict the consequences of Lennie's unswerving obedience to the things George taught him.

"A thriller, a gripping tale . . . that you will not set down until it is finished. Steinbeck has touched the quick." -- The New York Times
Publisher: New York :, Penguin Books,, 1993
ISBN: 9780140177398
Branch Call Number: CLASSICS F STE
Characteristics: 107 pages ; 18 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
p
Potato_Yummy
Jun 29, 2020

Of Mice and Men shows a relationship between George and Lennie. George is skinny but good with words, and Lennie is incredibly strong but foolish and sensitive. George mainly takes care of Lennie since he always gets into trouble. Their dream is to live in a shack and call it home, with animals and living as farmers. When Lennie and George seem to almost reach their dream, everything goes wrong when Lennie’s foolishness causes great consequences. This book was not a favorite but still an enjoyable, quick read. What I disliked about this book is that the book didn’t make me excited or think about what would happen next. What I did enjoy was the book conveys emotions and friendship which was a common theme through the whole story. I would recommend this book for all teens even though it wasn't an exciting read because it shows the importance of existence and loneliness.

c
ctonci
Jun 12, 2020

Of Mice and Men is a book about the journey of two ranch workers Lennie and George. Lennie faces mental disabilities which makes their travels difficult, in fact during the time of the Dust Bowl many people were discriminated against because of their mental capacity, skin color, or gender. These discriminations are seen as George and Lennie meet people of color and women in their journey, hearing the stories of different minorities. As George and Lennie go looking for jobs as ranch workers, to fulfill their dream of living independently, Lennie gets them into many unexpected troubles that they have to fix along the way. This book was good because the messages are still relevant today since making a living as a person with mentally disabilities is made harder by society. Although it explores heavy issues, Of Mice and Men is still lighthearted. I’d give this book a 5 out of 5 stars, because it captures the problems of many minorities in the working class and still portrays a beautiful plotline. The age group for this book is 12+ because the issues covered are mature but the vocabulary is not challenging so even younger readers will be able to read with ease.

m
Mikeyelvis2005
May 07, 2020

I really liked this book because it keeps you interested all the way through. This book is about two men named Lennie who is mentally slow and George who is Lennie's best friend and care taker. They both travel together and get to a camp where they both get jobs and live on this camp. Lennie gets himself into trouble and George is always there to get him out of trouble. Lennie gets himself into so much trouble that George can't help him this time. This book will keep you on the edge of your seat. At the end is a real game changer so you have to pay close attention at the end.

k
kimdaang
Apr 24, 2020

I liked reading this book even though it was for school purposes. It is interesting how dependent these characters are. George seems like an independent person but he brings Lennie around all the time. Lennie is a liability to George, but he is too ignorant to realize it. Even though this is a fictional book, it takes place during a real event, the dust bowl. If you want to learn a bit about history while reading a fictional book, this book might be the one.

h
hero070960
Nov 02, 2019

I loved reading this book! The dynamic between the two main characters was fun and relatable because they continuously go back and forth between arguing and reassuring each other. They obviously need each other to be successful in their journey, and that made the ending very powerful and emotional. The themes of lonliness and acceptance are very prevalent, and I believe reading this story opened my eyes to the importance of maintaining good relationships. I thought John Steinbeck's writing style was very descriptive and emotional, and his characters were very lifelike, each with a different style of dialogue. I connected so much with the characters that I actively hated certain ones (like Carlson and Curley), and empathized with others (like Candy and George). I would highly reccomend Of Mice and Men to anyone who enjoys a tragic story of friendship or a rustic country setting. This was my second time reading the novel, and it will definitely not be the last! Rating: 5/5
@outdoorsman14 of The Hamilton Public Library's Teen Review Board

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Oct 10, 2019

I loved reading this book! The dynamic between the two main characters was fun and relatable because they continuously go back and forth between arguing and reassuring each other. They obviously need each other to be successful in their journey, and that made the ending very powerful and emotional. The themes of lonliness and acceptance are very prevalent, and I believe reading this story opened my eyes to the importance of maintaining good relationships. I thought John Steinbeck's writing style was very descriptive and emotional, and his characters were very lifelike, each with a different style of dialogue. I connected so much with the characters that I actively hated certain ones (like Carlson and Curley), and empathized with others (like Candy and George). I would highly reccomend Of Mice and Men to anyone who enjoys a tragic story of friendship or a rustic country setting. This was my second time reading the novel, and it will definitely not be the last! Rating: 5/5
@outdoorsman14 of The Hamilton Public Library's Teen Review Board

d
Derringer
Apr 06, 2019

IMO - This "John Steinbeck" novel (from 1936) just doesn't hold up today as a good read. And, for the most part, its story is far from being a memorable one.

I was expecting Of Mice And Men's story to be a lot more uplifting and insightful in its outlook of people who were living "on the wrong side of the tracks".

Anyway - With that all said - I found this novel's story was far too drab and its characters far too dull for my liking. Of course, you may find it otherwise.

m
madmax011
Feb 26, 2019

I liked this book. Very well thought out, although it was very sad at the end.

CarleeMcDot Jan 28, 2019

Like I mentioned, I needed a couple audio books to keep me entertained on my drive to and from Phoenix for the Rock 'N' Roll Arizona Half and since I already had an 8 hours long one, I needed a shorter one. This one was available and was only 4 hours long so I snagged it. It was just a coincidence that both books were set during the Great Depression (and that the first book referenced the quote the title of this book was borrowed from multiple times - it was like it was planned... but it wasn't ;)). Like most classics you were supposed to read in school, this was one a missed... There's a possibility I read the CliffNotes, but in all honesty I think I just watched the movie. Anywho, I had forgotten the story and wanted to give it another chance. I can see why it won so many awards in its day (although I'll be honest, the racist language was cringeworthy). This book focuses on dreams and aspirations, despite the characters often being in powerless or abusive situations. I definitely wouldn't consider it a feel good book (at times I'd say it is even emotionally draining), but it is touching, tragic and oh so powerful. I would give it a 9 out of 10.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Sep 14, 2018

Written by John Steinbeck, this book is considered as classic American literature. It tells the tale of George Milton and Lennie Small: two men who travel place to place in the U.S in search of a new job during the era of the Great Depression. The topic was socially relevant at the time since many people struggled to make a living during that period. Moreover, the book is relatively short and easy to read. However, I expected more from a novel considering the praise and acclaim it received over the years. Since the book is short, there is little character development through the entire plot, which prevents it from leaving a major impact on the reader at the end. I could only relate to and sympathize with the main characters to a limited extent since the book doesn’t do a great job explaining their origins and what led to them becoming the people they are. I would give this book 3 stars.
@Riveting_Reviews of the Hamilton Public Library Teen Review Board

The novel Of Mice and Men written by John Steinbeck is a classic. It is full of very descriptive imagery, while also including a steady plot with characters developing throughout. This short novel is filled with twists and turns that will be sure to have you in tears by the end. I read this for a writer’s craft class and I feel that this novel is a great read for anyone looking for examples of archetypal characters with a spin. Steinbeck uses a variety of methods to describe his character’s characteristics, yet also keeps this novel short and sweet. I find that this novel was quite a short read considering it’s about 110 pages long. Although short, this classic is able to show a lot of powerful wordplay and imagery. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a very visual novel. I give this book 3.5/ 5
@TheCuriousBookworm of the Hamilton Public Library Teen Review Board

This is a heartbreaking story about two friends who are simply trying to make it in this world. George wants nothing more than to keep Lennie safe, and Lennie only ever wants to make George happy and proud. A humble tale about thriving for the American dream while facing discrimination and death brings readers on a roller coaster of emotions. Readers learn the dynamics of power and how one obtains it. They live vicariously through the two friends and understand what its was like to live in the U.S. during the Great Depression, what it is like to be mentally disabled, and what it is like to be a ranch worker. I only wish we got to see more of the duo’s past and their friendship. Rating: 4
- @Pandora of the Hamilton Public Library Teen Review Board

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
p
Potato_Yummy
Jun 29, 2020

Potato_Yummy thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

w
white_human_110
Mar 13, 2019

white_human_110 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

m
madmax011
Feb 26, 2019

madmax011 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

w
white_human_110
Feb 14, 2019

white_human_110 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 12 and 99

navy_dolphin_253 May 20, 2015

navy_dolphin_253 thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

black_penguin_254 Jan 24, 2014

black_penguin_254 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

aagarwal73 Aug 16, 2013

aagarwal73 thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and under

SABRINA JANE SALRIN thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

red_jellyfish_40 Jun 01, 2013

red_jellyfish_40 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

RainbowMunchkin May 24, 2013

RainbowMunchkin thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

View All Ages

Quotes

Add a Quote
s
Schoolgurl95
Jun 17, 2017

"A guy needs somebody...to be near him. A guy goes nuts if he ain't got nobody. Don't make no difference who the guy is, long's he's with you.

I tell ya, I tell ya a guy gets too lonely an' he gets sick."

p
parnoosh
Jul 15, 2016

"An' I got you. We got each other, that's what."

s
ssk22
Jul 06, 2016

“Just like heaven. Ever’body wants a little piece of lan’. I read plenty of books out here. Nobody never gets to heaven, and nobody gets no land. It’s just in their head. They’re all the time talkin’ about it, but it’s jus’ in their head.”

m
Makemoney
Jul 06, 2016

"There is a path through the willows and among the sycamores, a path beaten hard by boys coming down from the ranches to swim in the deep pool, and beaten hard by tramps who come wearily down from the highway in the evening to jungle-up near water."

Laura_X Apr 13, 2015

I got you to look after me, and you got me to look after you, and that's why.

black_penguin_254 Jan 24, 2014

"Guys like us, that work on ranches, are the loneliest guys in the world. They got no family. They don’t belong no place. . . . With us it ain’t like that. We got a future. We got somebody to talk to that gives a damn about us. We don’t have to sit in no bar room blowin’ in our jack jus’ because we got no place else to go. If them other guys gets in jail they can rot for all anybody gives a damn. But not us."

RainbowMunchkin May 24, 2013

"Never mind you. A guy got to sometimes"( Slim117 ).

e
E_Kazan
Dec 18, 2010

"You hadda George, I swear you hadda."

Summary

Add a Summary
m
miinas
Aug 03, 2016

Quick read. Very strange story. It was easy to follow. Surprise ending. I can see the dreams of the hard working men in these times dreaming of a better life. Lennie loved soft things.

s
ssk22
Jul 06, 2016

The compelling story of two outsiders striving to find their place in an unforgiving world. Drifters in search of work, George and his simple-minded friend Lennie have nothing in the world except each other and a dream.

black_penguin_254 Jan 24, 2014

Two migrant workers, George and Lennie, have been let off a bus miles away from the California farm where they are due to start work. George is a small, dark man with “sharp, strong features.” Lennie, his companion, is his opposite, a giant of a man with a “shapeless” face. Overcome with thirst, the two stop in a clearing by a pool and decide to camp for the night. As the two converse, it becomes clear that Lennie has a mild mental disability, and is deeply devoted to George and dependent upon him for protection and guidance. George finds that Lennie, who loves petting soft things but often accidentally kills them, has been carrying and stroking a dead mouse. George angrily throws it away, fearing that Lennie might catch a disease from the dead animal. George complains loudly that his life would be easier without having to care for Lennie, but the reader senses that their friendship and devotion is mutual. He and Lennie share a dream of buying their own piece of land, farming it, and, much to Lennie’s delight, keeping rabbits. George ends the night by treating Lennie to the story he often tells him about what life will be like in such an idyllic place.The next day, the men report to the nearby ranch. George, fearing how the boss will react to Lennie, insists that he’ll do all the talking. He lies, explaining that they travel together because they are cousins and that a horse kicked Lennie in the head when he was a child. They are hired. They meet Candy, an old “swamper,” or handyman, with a missing hand and an ancient dog, and Curley, the boss’s mean-spirited son. Curley is newly married, possessive of his flirtatious wife, and full of jealous suspicion. Once George and Lennie are alone in the bunkhouse, Curley’s wife appears and flirts with them. Lennie thinks she is “purty,” but George, sensing the trouble that could come from tangling with this woman and her husband, warns Lennie to stay away from her. Soon, the ranch-hands return from the fields for lunch, and George and Lennie meet Slim, the skilled mule driver who wields great authority on the ranch. Slim comments on the rarity of friendship like that between George and Lennie. Carlson, another ranch-hand, suggests that since Slim’s dog has just given birth, they should offer a puppy to Candy and shoot Candy’s old, good-for-nothing dog.

RainbowMunchkin May 24, 2013

George Milton and Lennie small have been friends for a long time. Lennie acts like a child.George and Lennie move from place to place looking to find new jobs... There is a conflict between a few people in the book, and in the end George has to make a decision that will be life changing and truly upseting.

Notices

Add Notices
m
madmax011
Feb 26, 2019

Coarse Language: some bad language

a
akleung
Jul 23, 2011

Violence: (Mild)

a
akleung
Jul 23, 2011

Coarse Language: This title contains Coarse Language.

h
hur74Vety
Jul 19, 2010

Sexual Content: This title contains Sexual Content.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top