The Crazy Makers

The Crazy Makers

How the Food Industry Is Destroying Our Brains and Harming Our Children

Book - 2000
Average Rating:
Rate this:
In the tradition of Silent Spring, The Crazy Makers is an indictment of American food processors and what they are serving the nation. Are they distributing food, or manufacturing products that redefine what we think food to be? How far afield of true food has the search for profit and the need to meet consumer trends led food manufacturers? Nutritionist Carol Simontacchi shows how the pseudo-foods being promoted today--from infant formulas to health-conscious prepackaged meals--are, in fact, physically eroding our brains. While it has been proven that food choices contribute to degenerative diseases like cancer, diabetes, and heart disease, Simontacchi maintains that our mental condition is also at risk. Examining the relationship of diet to changing levels of chemicals in the brain, Simontacchi finds that: * consumer baby-formulas and baby foods can be harmful to an infant's brain development; * ingredients and residues such as MSG and neurotoxins are present in our children's food, hidden by misleading labels; * stripping essential minerals from the foods being served to teenagers can be linked to anorexia nervosa, bulimia, poor cognition and behavior; and * schools that strike deals with fast-food companies are among the worst saboteurs of a child's healthy diet and mind.Based on new research, information retrieved via the Freedom of Information Act, and a formal study conducted by Simontacchi of schoolchildren's eating habits, The Crazy Makers identifies how the new "foods" may be driving us crazy. Notes. Index.
Publisher: New York : Jeremy P. Tarcher/Putnam, c2000
ISBN: 9781585420353
1585420352
9781585426263
Branch Call Number: 615.954 SIM
Characteristics: 300 p. ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top