Before We Were Yours

Before We Were Yours

A Novel

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
114
6
2
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERFor readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a "thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal."*Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.*Library JournalPraise for Before We Were Yours"A [story] of a family lost and found . . . a poignant, engrossing tale about sibling love and the toll of secrets."—People"Sure to be one of the most compelling books you pick up this year. . . . Wingate is a master-storyteller, and you'll find yourself pulled along as she reveals the wake of terror and heartache that is Georgia Tann's legacy."—Parade"One of the year's best books . . . It is impossible not to get swept up in this near-perfect novel."—The Huffington Post"Lisa Wingate takes an almost unthinkable chapter in our nation's history and weaves a tale of enduring power."—Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of Circling the Sun
Publisher: 2017
ISBN: 9780425284698
Branch Call Number: DOWNLOADABLE E-BOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
h
hhow20
Jan 09, 2021

Somewhat slow start but I couldn’t put it down after the first few chapters. Definitely a sad story, especially since it’s influenced by the stories of real people, but it ends well.

m
mimsipod
Jan 03, 2021

What 512cadcock said.

5
512cadcock
Dec 31, 2020

Loved how the narration for this book switched from first person (Princess of the Arcadia shanty boat in the 1930s) to their grandchildren’s generation uncovering a long lost story. Had me turning pages and too intrigued to put it down. A beautiful coming of age story of hard times and love and triumph in the face of hardship. This was a true 5 star book for me and I look forward to reading other books from this author in the future.

l
lindemuldercr
Dec 22, 2020

Great book, interesting writing.

h
huttonjs
Dec 20, 2020

Just amazing! I couldn't put it down. Each chapter was in a different voice but you picked up right where you left off each time the next started. I loved every bit of this book.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Dec 18, 2020

Before We Were Yours is a heart wrenching story focusing on the crimes of the Tennessee Children’s Home Society at the hands of Georgia Tann. This novel is based on a true story. The author manages to incorporate the seriousness of the crimes that Ms. Tann committed, with amazing historical accuracy, while also adding her own style to the story. This novel focuses on a series of illegal adoptions carried out by Ms. Tann in the early to mid 1900’s. Fans of the historical fiction, non-fiction, drama, and thriller genres will appreciate this story of love, loss, and the importance of justice. However, due to the fact that this book is based on a true story, there may be some scenes that readers find violent; therefore, please take caution when reading this book if you are not comfortable with violence. @avidreader16 of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

r
Rdi123
Nov 17, 2020

A good read

7
7592ns
Nov 16, 2020

Disturbing but fascinating book based on a page in history, The Tennessee Childrens' Home Society, a network run by Georgia Tann. Children were kidnapped from families, placed in orphanages and treated like animals, then sold off to wealthy families. This story involves 5 siblings, and the oldest' search for her brothers and sisters into old age.

s
sunny3774
Oct 30, 2020

take off list as
I have already read this book

d
dschirmer
Oct 05, 2020

I always looked forward to picking this book up to see where the story would take me. I did not know the horrors of this story, I am glad it was able to be brought to light. I thought the love story line was unnecessary but I could just be cynical- I recommend as a read.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
x
XueyingMou
Jun 17, 2019

"No matter how much we may love the melody of a bygone day or imagine the song of a future one, we must dance within the music of today, or we will always be out of step, stumbling around in something that doesn't suit the moment."

c
cknightkc
Oct 12, 2018

“We plan our days, but we don’t control them.” - p. 95

c
cknightkc
Oct 12, 2018

“The argument ends where all arguments do—on the altar of compromise.” - p. 255

c
cknightkc
Oct 12, 2018

“I learned that you need not be born into a family to be loved by one.” - p. 314

c
cknightkc
Oct 12, 2018

“A woman’s past need not predict her future. She can dance to new music if she
chooses. Her own music. - p. 317

ArapahoeMaryA Jun 13, 2017

I clench my teeth so hard the pain travels all the way to the top of my head. I'm glad for it - it's just a little ache and I know where it comes from. I can stop it anytime I want. The one in my heart is way bigger. I can't fix it no matter how hard I try. It scares me so much that I can't even breathe.

"…the love of sisters needs no words. It does not depend on memories, or mementos or proof. It runs as deep as a heartbeat; it is as ever present as a pulse.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
m
Mya614
Jan 20, 2018

Mya614 thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

b
BRUCE PILCHER
Sep 26, 2017

BRUCE PILCHER thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top