Inheriting Edith

Inheriting Edith

A Novel

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
A poignant breakout novel, for fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand, about a single mother who inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat—she must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it.For years, Maggie Sheets has been an invisible hand in the glittering homes of wealthy New York City clients, scrubbing, dusting, mopping, and doing all she can to keep her head above water as a single mother. Everything changes when a former employer dies leaving Maggie a staggering inheritance. A house in Sag Harbor. The catch? It comes with an inhabitant: The deceased's eighty-two-year old mother Edith.Edith has Alzheimer's—or so the doctors tell her—but she remembers exactly how her daughter Liza could light up a room, or bring dark clouds in her wake. And now Liza's gone, by her own hand, and Edith has been left—like a chaise or strand of pearls—to a poorly dressed young woman with a toddler in tow. Maggie and Edith are both certain this arrangement will be an utter disaster. But as summer days wane, a tenuous bond forms, and Edith, who feels the urgency of her diagnosis, shares a secret that she's held close for five decades, launching Maggie on a mission that might just lead them each to what they are looking for.
Publisher: 2016
ISBN: 9780062378750
Branch Call Number: DOWNLOADABLE E-BOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

p
PAMELAB7279
Jan 09, 2017

Life goes on no matter what happens. Inherit a house? No problem, except for Edith. Your daughter is asking where is her Daddy? No problem, except you broke up before you knew you were pregnant. A realistic view of living with someone with Alzheimers while maintaining all the other aspects of your life.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top