The Digger and the Flower

The Digger and the Flower

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:

From the acclaimed author/artist of Beyond the Pond and Rulers of the Playground comes a breathtaking new book with a powerful message about the environment, perfect for fans of Peter Brown's The Curious Garden and Kadir Nelson's If You Plant a Seed.

Each day, the big trucks go to work. They scoop and hoist and push.

But when Digger discovers something growing in the rubble, he sets in motion a series of events that will change him, and the city, forever.

"This story contains bold graphic illustrations and a wonderful message about the environment," proclaims Brightly.com in their article "18 Must-Read Picture Books of 2018."

Publisher: New York (State) :, HarperCollins Canada Ltd.,, 2018
ISBN: 9780062424334
Branch Call Number: ON ORDER
Characteristics: 1 volume (unpaged) : chiefly illustrations

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

VaughanPLDianeB Mar 07, 2018

A tender story with simple text and drawings -- a digging machine nurtures a flower to grow despite the urban sprawl happening around it. When unable to save it, the machine thinks of a clever and peaceful alternative -- plant its seeds elsewhere. A lovely tale with several themes, including the power of small acts of kindness and the value in taking care of nature.

AL_KATI Feb 23, 2018

I loved how much big Digger cared for something as small as a flower. Beauty is everywhere.

e
Evmce32
Feb 14, 2018

This is a sweet story, but I'm not so sure about the message. When there's no more space to build in the town, Digger takes the three remaining flower seeds and goes far out into the countryside to plant and nurture them. Very nice. But I wish that the message had been that space can be found for grass/trees/flowers, even within a city.

LiztheLibrarian Feb 12, 2018

Even small things can lead to big changes, this book is a gentle depiction of that concept.

rosypinkposy Feb 04, 2018

Some big construction trucks spend their days building in the city, until the digger discovers the importance of one little flower. This book may inspire your children to think about small things they can do to care for Nature.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top