The Dangerous Art of Blending in

The Dangerous Art of Blending in

Book - 2018 | First edition
Average Rating:
Rate this:
9
3

~Lambda Literary Award finalist for the best LGBT YA novel of 2018~

A raw, powerful, but ultimately uplifting debut novel perfect for fans of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe from debut author Angelo Surmelis.

Seventeen-year-old Evan Panos doesn't know where he fits in. His strict immigrant Greek mother refuses to see him as anything but a disappointment. His quiet, workaholic father is a staunch believer in avoiding any kind of conflict. And his best friend, Henry, has somehow become distractingly attractive over the summer.

Tired, isolated, scared--Evan finds that his only escape is to draw in an abandoned monastery that feels as lonely as he is. And yes, he kissed one guy over the summer. But it's Henry who's now proving to be irresistible. Henry, who suddenly seems interested in being more than friends. And it's Henry who makes him believe that he deserves more than his mother's harsh words and terrifying abuse.

But as things with Henry heat up, and his mother's abuse escalates, Evan has to decide how to find his voice in a world where he has survived so long by being silent.

This is a powerful and revelatory coming-of-age novel based on the author's own childhood, about a boy who learns to step into his light.

Publisher: New York :, Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,, [2018]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2018
ISBN: 9780062659002
Branch Call Number: Y SUR
Characteristics: 315 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
t
The_Zookeeper
Feb 10, 2020

This book was great and heartbreaking all at the same time. I wanted Evan away from his family so badly and I just wanted to shake him and tell him to trust Henry so he could get away from his awful mother.

t
tobyfear
Dec 28, 2019

Meh - about a boy who can't be honest with his family

f
flyermare890
Dec 04, 2019

I am 90% of the way done, and i just want to make one comment. This book is NOT a guide for how you act if you find out a loved one is being abused. If you EVER learn about an abusive situation even CLOSE to resembling Evan's you DO NOT STAY SILENT. This is a life and death situation. You do NOT (like Henry does) stay silent for 3 months. You offer support like making a safety plan with them. Offer up ideas on how to escape the situation. Offer to have them live with you or a relative and make a detailed plan for how it would work out (how they could continue school, work, and stay safely away from their abuser). Tell them about Support networks and hotlines, whether it is the National Domestic Violence support line, or a therapist. Tell them IT IS NOT THEIR FAULT. Abusers are masterminds at convincing the victim it is their fault, and even convincing them they need to die. You would NEVER forgive yourself if your friend died at the hands of their abuser, or by their own hands because of the abuse.(HENRY)

MEDICAL PROFESSIONALS, PRINCIPALS: if you see signs of abuse on a child, or an adult, DO NOT PRETEND IT'S NOT THERE, or that it's not your responsibility, you only aggravate the situation and confirm to the victim that they deserve to be in this situation, abused and despised.

Conclusion about the book: The author does an incredible job portraying the abuse and they types of abuse that can occur, especially in situations where we wouldn't expect it (from a mother to her son, from a wife to her husband). The author also does an moving job of portraying the life of a victim: what he experiences, what he thinks, what he goes through, and especially the consequences of the abuse in his daily life. We see how he hides the abuse, and we see how a victim could be many people in our lives and we wouldn't expect it. We see how it perpetuates, and damages him psychologically. We want to help him with all our hears and hence my rant above. I know the people in his life are human, they make mistakes and some of them are still in high school. We could all handle an abuse victim or a case of abuse incorrectly, hence my rant above. Over all, this is a beautiful book that is a must read for generations to come. So people all over the world can open up their eyes to the horrors that can occur, yet still see the beauty that can rise above it.

s
serenahaoareyou
Aug 31, 2019

I never write reviews but I checked this book out today and spent 4 hours straight getting through the whole thing. I cried the whole time. I've never bawled my eyes out this much to a book, within the first 2 chapters, I was tearing up and i couldn't stop until I was done. You'll fall in love with Evan and Henry and learn to fall in love with difficult characters like his dad and Jeremy. Would definitely recommend

neyoscribbles Jul 24, 2019

This is an atypical teen story that explores topics of abuse, homosexuality and religion. Evan is stuck between the turmoil of coming out and making peace with who he is all while trying to survive life at home and in highschool. The emphasis of the novel seemed to be about Evan coming to terms with his sexual orientation instead of Evan establishing his own identity, irrespective of his homosexuality. Warning: the physical and emotional abuse experienced by Evan is so heartbreaking that I had to put the book down on several occasions just so that I can calm myself down. But, the ultimate breakthrough is the empowerment and worthiness he feels about himself, and how he finally takes actions to establish himself as an independent person.

p
PamelaMemmott
Jun 04, 2019

The author tells his own story of pain, abuse, discrimination, and overcoming it all through the relate-able character Evan. Not only is this novel captivating, it addresses a variety of poignant issues in tasteful and enlightening ways. I'd recommend it to anyone!

www.pamelamemmott.com

a
acrobat888
May 24, 2019

Soooo good! I haven’t read a book that I simply couldn’t put down in so long. Captivating and a journey of growing up in difficult circumstances anyone should read (probably 13+)

m
MeaninglessBark
Mar 08, 2019

Very believable coming-of-age tale that also presents a realistic portrayal of a physically and emotionally abusive parent-child relationship. I normally avoid heavy drama fiction, especially stories with abusive relationships. But this is, weirdly, an enjoyable book that stands out in the queer-kid-in-high school genre.

v
VidishaG
Aug 10, 2018

This book told the poignant tale of Evan Panos, a closeted teen who faces abuse at home. Any book that can make me physically feel pain for the character is truly well-written. Would recommend!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
p
pink_cat_15182
May 25, 2020

pink_cat_15182 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

a
acrobat888
May 24, 2019

acrobat888 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

v
VidishaG
Aug 10, 2018

VidishaG thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top