Saving Winslow

Saving Winslow

eBook - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
An Indie Next List Pick and Texas Bluebonnet Award-Winner!"A winning tale of love." —Kirkus (starred review)Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech.Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie's quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings."This heartwarming story is sure to be a hit with fans of E. B. White's Charlotte's Web and Kate DiCamillo's Because of Winn-Dixie." —School Library Journal (starred review)"Creech packs a tremendous amount of emotion between the lines of her understated prose. Animal lovers in particular will relish Louie's hard-won triumphs and find joy in Winslow's strength." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)"Woven into this narrative is a convincing portrayal of human growth and blossoming—the story is told simply but subtly, celebrating the unexpected strength of the vulnerable." —Horn Book (starred review)
Publisher: 2018
ISBN: 9780062570734
Branch Call Number: DOWNLOADABLE E-BOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
savtadina
Feb 04, 2020

A wonderful book! Some of my grandson's 5th grade classmates read this book as part of a BOB (Battle of the Books) competition so I decided to read it as my grandson read half and said it was good. I was very impressed so just read half to my 3rd grade grandson who was captivated by it too. It was good to read aloud so we could discuss some of the complex issues, including

1) Louie having had bad luck with animals in the past
2) Louie looking for something he can be good at
3) Louie missing his brother who joined the army
4) His interactions with a girl who he finds out has lost something precious too so is afraid to see things in a positive light
5) Louie having to decide what is best for the growing donkey

FPL_Suzanne Nov 12, 2019

A heart-warming read for all ages! You cannot help but root for Louie and Winslow. It will bring a smile to your face.

DCLkids Nov 12, 2018

A Great Books for Great Kids pick. Ten-year-old Louie does not have a good track record for taking care of animals. When his father brings home a weak, orphaned newborn mini-donkey from his Uncle Pete's farm, Louie decides to do everything in his power to save him. Grades 3-6.

SnoIsleLib_LindseyA Nov 09, 2018

A great choice for animal lovers, this story follows a ten-year-old boy, Louie, who takes on the responsibility of rehabilitating a newborn donkey whose mother has died. A former preemie himself, Louie is determined to rescue the tiny donkey, whom he names Winslow, and he's appalled by the number of people who think he won't make it. As Winslow grows and thrives, he helps forge a friendship between Louie and the odd girl down the street. He also causes issues with a cranky neighbor, so Louie is forced to make some tough decisions about Winslow's future.

Woven throughout is a thread about Louie's older brother, Gus, who is serving in the military. I would have liked this plot developed a bit further, but ultimately I was more interested in Winslow's story.

It's an excellent audiobook. Kirby Heyborne's narration is sensitive and sympathetic, and he makes some hilarious donkey sounds throughout the book.

DPLheather Oct 26, 2018

Another very unique and charming book from a great writer. The conversation is memorable, and Winslow is unforgettable.

bookcat51 Oct 01, 2018

Award winning author Sharon Creech never fails to warm our hearts with her stories. Perfect for fans of Charlotte’s Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is a sweet, uplifting story about a young boy who refuses to give up on an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health.

d
darladoodles
Aug 29, 2018

You can't help but fall in love with Louie and little Winslow. They are both underdogs and when they team up they are invincible. Young readers will be reminded of the value of life and the beauty of living in community. Highly recommended!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at RPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top